a messy update about ‘primary colors’

by adrien

adrien lucca mess Jan 2013

 

It’s been weeks since I started to ‘expand’ my collection of ‘primary colors.’ I have around 50 of them now, and it’s not finished.

If you wonder what I call a ‘primary color’ here’s a definition: in my system, it is a color that cannot be made from others. For example, If I superimpose opaque blue and white lines, I get a light blue that is less saturated than a blue made from the actual mixture of the 2 pigments. So that mixture becomes a ‘primary color. From this perspective, there’s an infinity of primaries, but still much much less than non-primaries.

A guy called Joshua Horowitz, (see: http://web.mit.edu/joshuah/www/ ) helped me solving the problem of defining primaries by programming a code that automatically ‘excludes’ non-primaries, among other things …

Adrien lucca colors pots Jan 2013

‘Primary’ colors: mixtures of organic/inorganic color pigments

Adrien lucca primary colors list Jan 2013

a list of primaries

The little proto-software also allows a 3-D visualization of my ‘colorspace’ in CIE XYZ mode:

XYZ colorspace 3D Adrien Lucca Jan 2013

3D XYZ colorspace, every line intersection is a primary color

More important, the software automatically ‘solves’ a list of colors by giving max. 4 primaries for each target color, a great gain of time & simplicity…

I am now ready to explore the entire colorspace…

Adrien Lucca Colorspace xy 1931 Jan 2013

(temporary) gamut of my pigment-colorspace, and below:

‘genetic code’ of the picture above (Yxy colorimetric coordinates, sets of 4 primaries, necessary amounts for color matching)

Adrien Lucca Colorspace genetic code Jan 2013