Opening speech at Lamberts international stained glass symposium, Waldsassen, DE

by adrien

keynote

“Soleil de minuit”, stained glass pannel n°5/14 (detail), 2016

LAST MINUTE INFORMATION: I’ll be the first speaker during the First Transatlantic Stained Glass Symposium, April 26,2016 – April 28,2016 in Waldsassen

Adrien Lucca

Artist, independent researcher, color theory teacher at the national visual arts school La Cambre in Brussels, BE

Presentation: Between Tradition, the visual Arts and the digital technology: a digital stained glass project made of Lambert glass in a metro station in Montreal, CA

 

My art tries to be a visual equivalent of what music is in the field of audition. I reject every concept that doesn’t reflects in a material and visual reality.

For the last 8 years I develloped an approach centered around « light and color », that is based on a scientific methodology, on computer programming, on physics and color theory. Like a painter my tools are brushes, pigments, paints, paper or colored glass but also lamps, scientific instruments and equations. For me, the technique and the conceptual quality are two sides of the same problem, I wish to create a work that blurs existing categories such as « art », « science », « invention », and I defend the idea that scientific knowledge is free from the individuals that create it and from the institutions that fund it. Science can be used and practiced by anybody that understands it including outside of the academia and of the industry.

In 2015 I proposed the realization of a large-scale stained glass project in the frame of a competition involving an exchange of artworks between the cities of Brussels, BE, and Montreal, CA, and I won. I am currently working on the production of the artwork with the studio Debongnie in Belgium. The project consists of 14 stained glass pannels for a total of +-50 m², that have been completely designed by a computer algorithm. My software uses a spectral-colorimetric database of 350 different Lamberts glass samples measured in the factory with a spectrophotometer in the summer of 2015.

My talk will explain how I successfully adapted the techniques of color-management that I developped in my previous works to the medium of stained glass, what problems I encountered during the conception and the production of the pieces and how they were solved algorithmically or pragmatically in Debongnie’s studio.

The talk will be divided in 3 parts:

1- An explanation of why I wanted to work with stained glass in the context of my artistic work with light and color

2- « Soleil de minuit »: outlines of the stained-glass project for Montreal

3- The production of the stained glass in detail, from the physical color measurements to the conception of the algorithm, and to the material production in the studio Debongnie

I’ll conclude this presentation with a “hansei” (a japanese word meaning “self-reflection”, meaning to acknowledge one’s own mistake and to pledge improvement). I will criticize my own approach based on what I have learned by working with Lamberts and Debongnie and on what I’d like to change in my way of dealing with the medium of stained glass when I’ll have a chance to do it again.

See: http://www.lamberts.de/fileadmin/lamberts/pdf/The_First_Transatlantic_Symposium_-_FINAL.pdf