Light Transformer Prototype v.2

The prototype is finally finished!

So, to explain in a few words: 1-the amount of light projected by high-power spots on the wall has been measured. 2-an algorithm has been created to absorb the light using black over white laser-prints until the wall’s surface emits the same amount of light to the eyes of an observer situated in front of it. 3-The central part of this print has been cut and the same process remade a second time within the limits of this cut.

The impression produced is impossible to reproduce in photography, so the pictures there are just “documentation.” The impression is a bit like if the light was actually coming from “behind” the wall, like if the rectangle was a “window,” opening the wall, like in a dark corridor…

I’m really happy with it, I think it would be great to remake this much bigger the next time (and after developping the tools for it, I could make it much faster and more precisely…) I’m thinking of a “virtual corridor.” I’ve always been attracted by the idea of “remaking” the corridors of italian museums, where you walk slowly and stop at every painting on your sides. I could now make the painting of a corridor of paintings… :)

PLEASE CLICK ON THE PICTURES TO ZOOM AND SEE BETTER!

NORMAL LIGHT

TRANSFORMED (EQUALIZED) LIGHT

7 responses to “Light Transformer Prototype v.2”

  1. […] I spent the last few days, entire days, learning how to use the C++ programming language, first attending one hour particular lesson at home, then via internet (in particular by posting my problems on the great website stackoverflow.com) and finally today I succeeded creating a first version of what I wanted: a simple error-diffusion bitmap algorithm that I will now improve and reuse in my wallpaper project (or “Light Transformer v.3″, see v.2 here: Light Transformer 2) […]

Leave a comment